British GT Championship reveals full season entry list

British GT Championship reveals full season entry list

07 April 2022

British GT Championship reveals full season entry list

The Intelligent Money British GT Championship has announced its full-time entry list, ahead of its 30th anniversary season which kicks off at Oulton Park at Easter (16/18 April) ahead of visits to Donington Park, Snetterton and Brands Hatch as the year progresses.

A total of 17 GT3s and 15 GT4 cars are set to contest all nine of the championship's rounds as part of a 32-strong full entry, with additional contestants expected at certain rounds. 12 manufacturers will be represented in all across the two classes, with a strong contingent of high-class drivers taking their places on the grid.

New cars to look out for which haven't previously been seen on the British GT grid will include the latest BMW M4 GT3, the Audi R8 LMS Evo II GT3, the Porsche 718 Cayman RS Clubsport and the Ekris M4 GT3. Another new feature appearing on the grid will be hand controls, in Team BRIT's McLaren 570S GT4, shared by Bobby Trundley and paraplegic Aaron Morgan.

Leo Machitski and Dennis Lind won't be on the grid to retain their 2021 GT3 drivers' crown, which means that a different driver pairing will take outright honours in the faster class this year. This means that Will Burns is the only reigning overall champion on the grid this year, as he returns alongside new co-driver Jack Brown in a bid to become GT4's first-ever two-time title winner. That class features two more previous champions in the form of Jack Mitchell (2018) and Ross Wylie (2014).

Reigning GT3 Silver-Am champions Stewart and Lewis Proctor are also back, albeit after switching from Balfe to Greystone GT, while reigning double GT3 Pro-Am champion Ian Loggie now has Jules Gounon and Callum Macleod for company at RAM Racing.

McLaren is the top representative in both classes, with six GT3s and three GT4s.

Click here to view this season's British GT Championship entry list.